Here on the HubSpot blog, we've written glossary-themed posts that encompass some of the cadre components of entering marketing. We've covered social media terms, content marketing terms, smarketing terms, email marketing terms, website optimization terms ... heck, even marketing acronyms.

Learn how to run more impactful, measurable marketing campaigns.

Well, nosotros thought it was time to create a web log post that could serve as a holistic marketing glossary -- 1 that not only defines each term, merely also offers some helpful resources in case you desire to learn virtually them in more depth. We hope you tin can bookmark this post and come back to it whenever you lot need to.

Now, I'm no math whiz, but when y'all attempt to brand a glossary based on a topic with sub-categories that could be their own glossaries, well -- that's a lot of gloss. Then instead of throwing hundreds of terms at you from all those other glossaries, I narrowed this one down to the meridian 100 terms that are imperative to anyone learning about marketing.

A

1. A/B Testing

This is the process of comparison two variations of a single variable to determine which performs best in gild to help meliorate marketing efforts. This is ofttimes done in e-mail marketing (with variations in the bailiwick line or copy), calls-to-action (variations in colors or verbiage), and landing pages (variations in content). Outside of marketing, you can use it to determine what tastes meliorate on a peanut butter sandwich: jelly or fluff. (Larn how to run A/B tests here.)

2. Analytics

What I sometimes refer to every bit the "eyes" of inbound marketing, analytics is essentially the discovery and advice of meaningful patterns in data. When referred to in the context of marketing, it's looking at the data of i's initiatives (website visitor reports, social, PPC, etc.), analyzing the trends, and developing actionable insights to make better informed marketing decisions. (Want to learn marketing analytics? Here a list of nine great sources to go y'all started.)

3. Awarding Programming Interface (API)

APIs are a series of rules in estimator programming, which let an awarding to extract information from a service and use that information either in their own application or in data analyses. Information technology's kind of like a phone for applications to have conversations -- an API literally "calls" i awarding and gets information to bring to you to use in your software. APIs facilitate the information needed to provide solutions to client problems.

HubSpot has APIs that developers utilise to get information from our software into theirs. It's of import for marketers to empathize what APIs can do to gene them in to their marketing strategies. Acquire more than about how marketers can utilise APIs here.

4. B2B (Business-to-Business)

An adjective used to depict companies that sell to other businesses. For instance, Google and Oracle are primarily B2B companies.

5. B2C (Business organization-to-Consumer)

An describing word used to describe companies that sell directly to consumers. For example, Amazon, Apple, and Nike are primarily B2C companies.

6. Blogging

This is short for web log or blog. An individual or group of people unremarkably maintains a web log. A personal web log or concern blog will traditionally include regular entries of commentary, descriptions of events, or other textile, such as photos and video.

Blogging is a core component of inbound marketing, as information technology can accomplish several initiatives simultaneously -- like website traffic growth, idea leadership, and atomic number 82 generation. It does not, even so, practice your taxes.

seven. Business organisation Blogging

Business blogging retains all the attributes of "regular" blogging, but adds a tasty layer of marketing strategy on top. It helps marketers bulldoze traffic to their website, catechumen that traffic into leads, constitute authorisation on certain topics, and drive long-term results. (Larn about these benefits in more detail here.)

When blogging for a business organisation, marketers should create posts that are optimized with keywords that their target audition is searching for and provide helpful, educational material to these readers. Typically, these blog posts should exist actionable (by providing an opt-in, downloadable offer), as to provide a metric for the effectiveness of the business blogging.

viii. Bottom of the Funnel

Since we're going alphabetically, the last role of the funnel process is start! So, "bottoms upwards," I suppose. The bottom of the funnel refers to a phase of the buying procedure leads reach when they're only about to shut every bit new customers. They've identified a problem, take shopped around for possible solutions, and are very close to buying.

Typically, next steps for leads at this stage are a call from a sales rep, a demo, or a costless consultation -- depending on what blazon of business is attempting to close the lead.

9. Bounce Charge per unit

Website bounciness rate: The pct of people who country on a page on your website and so leave without clicking on anything else or navigating to any other pages on your site. A high bounciness rate generally leads to poor conversion rates because no one is staying on your site long enough to read your content or catechumen on a landing page (or for any other conversion issue).

E-mail bounce rate: The rate at which an email was unable to exist delivered to a recipient's inbox. A high bounce rate generally ways your lists are out-of-date or purchased, or they include many invalid email addresses. In email, not all bounces are bad, so information technology's important to distinguish betwixt hard and soft bounces before taking an electronic mail address off your list. (Larn about hard and soft bounces here.)

10. Buyer Persona

A semi-fictional representation of your platonic customer based on market research and real information about your existing customers. While it helps marketers like you define their target audience, it can also assistance sales reps authorize leads. (Learn more almost developing buyer personas here.)

C

11. Call-to-Activity

A call-to-action is a text link, push, image, or some type of web link that encourages a website visitor to visit a landing page and become of lead. Some examples of CTAs are "Subscribe Now" or "Download the Whitepaper Today." These are important for marketers because they're the "bait" that entices a website company to eventually become a pb. Then, you can imagine that it's important to convey a very enticing, valuable offering on a call-to-activeness to better foster visitor-to-lead conversion. (Download our free, introductory guide to effective calls-to-action here. Hey, that was a CTA!)

12. Tin can-SPAM

Can-SPAM stands for "Controlling the Assault of Non-Solicited Pornography and Marketing." It's a U.S. law passed in 2003 that establishes the rules for commercial electronic mail and commercial messages, it gives recipients the right to take a business finish emailing them, and outlines the penalties incurred for those who violate the law. For example, Can-SPAM is the reason businesses are required to have an "unsubscribe" option at the bottom of every e-mail. (Learn more of the details here.)

13. CASL

CASL stands for "Canadian Anti-Spam Legislation." Information technology'southward a Canadian police force passed in 2013 that covers the sending of "commercial electronic letters" that may be accessed by a computer in Canada. CASL covers email, texts, instant letters, and automatic cell telephone messages sent to computers and phones in Canada. (Learn more of the details here.)

14. Churn Rate

A metric that measures how many customers you retain and at what value. To calculate churn rate, take the number of customers you lost during a certain time frame, and carve up that by the full number of customers you had at the very showtime of that time frame. (Don't include whatsoever new sales from that fourth dimension frame.)

For case, if a visitor had 500 customers at the beginning of Oct and only 450 customers at the terminate of October (discounting any customers that were closed in October), their customer churn rate would exist: (500-450)/500 = 50/500 = 10%.

Churn rate is a significant metric primarily for recurring revenue companies. Regardless of your monthly acquirement, if your average customer does not stick effectually long enough for you to at least break fifty-fifty on your client acquisition costs, yous're in trouble.

15. Clickthrough Rate (CTR)

The percentage of your audience that advances (or clicks through) from one function of your website to the side by side step of your marketing entrada. As a mathematic equation, information technology'south the total number of clicks that your folio or CTA receives divided by the number of opportunities that people had to click (ex: number of pageviews, emails sent, and so on).

16. Closed-Loop Marketing

The practice of airtight-loop marketing is beingness able to execute, rail and show how marketing efforts accept impacted bottom-line business growth. An example would exist tracking a website company as they become a pb to the very concluding affect point when they close equally a customer.

When done correctly, y'all'd be able to see merely how much of your marketing investment yielded new business growth. One of the biggest business benefits of implementing an entering marketing strategy and utilizing inbound marketing software is the ability to execute closed-loop marketing.

17. Conversion Path

A conversion path is a serial of website-based events that facilitate atomic number 82 capture. In its nearly bones class, a conversion path will consist of a call-to-action (typically a button that describes an offer) that leads to a landing page with a lead capture grade, which redirects to a thank you lot page where a content offering resides. In exchange for his or her contact data, a website company obtains a content offer to amend assist them through the buying process. If yous're all the same having difficulty grasping the topic based on this description, feel free to absorb information technology as a rabbit hunting analogy in comic form.

18. Content

In relation to inbound marketing, content is a piece of information that exists for the purpose of beingness digested (not literally), engaged with, and shared. Content typically comes in the form of a blog, video, social media postal service, photograph, slideshow, or podcast, although there are plenty of over types out at that place. From website traffic to atomic number 82 conversion to customer marketing, content plays an indispensable role in a successful inbound marketing strategy.

19. Content Management System (CMS)

A web application designed to make it piece of cake for not-technical users to create, edit, and manage a website. Helps users with content editing and more "behind-the-scenes" work like making content searchable and indexable, automatically generating navigation elements, keeping runway of users and permissions, and more.

(At HubSpot, we think COS is improve than CMS. Find out why.)

20. Content Optimization Organisation (COS)

A COS is basically a CMS (Content Management System), but optimized to deliver customers the nearly personalized web feel possible. (Larn more about HubSpot's COS here.)

21. Context

If content is male monarch, and so context is queen. Serving up valuable content is of import, simply ensuring that it'south customized for the right audience is equally (if not more) important. Equally buyers become more in command of what information they digest (again, non literally), it's important to deliver content that's contextually relevant. If y'all ain a restaurant, y'all wouldn't want to transport a coupon for a steak dinner to a vegetarian, correct? Unless you're anti-plant eater, of course …

22. Conversion Rate

The percentage of people who completed a desired activity on a single web folio, such equally filling out a course. Pages with high conversion rates are performing well, while pages with low conversion rates are performing poorly.

23. Conversion Charge per unit Optimization (CRO)

The process of improving your site conversion using blueprint techniques, key optimization principles, and testing. It involves creating an experience for your website visitors that will convert them into customers. CRO is most frequently applied to web page or landing page optimization, only it can as well exist practical to social media, CTAs, and other parts of your marketing. (Learn more than here.)

24. Cost-per-Lead (CPL)

The amount it costs your marketing organisation to acquire a lead. This factors heavily into CAC (customer acquisition cost), and is a metric marketers should go along a keen eye on.

25. Crowdsourced Content

Creating your own content can take more than time than you have to lend to it -- which is where crowdsourcing comes into play. Allowing subject affair experts, customers, or freelancers to create your content for you is a prime number fashion to get more quality content published in less time. Compile the content you get back into a really crawly offer and give credit to all the contributors -- a win-win for everyone involved. (Learn how to crowdsource a web log post using Google Docs here.)

26. Client Acquisition Toll (CAC)

Your total Sales and Marketing cost. To calculate CAC, follow these steps for a given fourth dimension period (month, quarter, or year):

  1. Add upward program or advertizement spend + salaries + commissions + bonuses + overhead.
  2. Divide by the number of new customers in that time period.

For example, if you spend $500,000 on Sales and Marketing in a given calendar month and added 50 customers that same calendar month, then your CAC was $ten,000 that month. (Learn more than hither.)

27. Client Relationship Management (CRM)

A set of software programs that let companies keep track of everything they exercise with their existing and potential customers.

At the simplest level, CRM software lets you go along track of all the contact data for these customers. But CRM systems tin can practise lots of other things, also, like tracking email, phone calls, faxes, and deals; sending personalized emails; scheduling appointments; and logging every instance of customer service and back up. Some systems likewise contain feeds from social media such equally Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and others. (Acquire more than here.)

28. CSS

CSS stands for Cascading Style Sheets, and it's what gives your entire website its style, like colors, fonts, and background images. It affects the mood and tone of a spider web page, making information technology an incredibly powerful tool. It's too what allows websites to adapt to different screen sizes and device types. (Larn more than about CSS, HTML, and JavaScript here.)

D

29. Dynamic Content

A way to display unlike messaging on your website based on the information you already know about the visitor. For instance, you lot could use Smart CTAs then that first-time visitors will encounter a personalized CTA (perhaps with a top-of-the-funnel offer) and those already in your database see a unlike CTA (maybe for content that offers a little more information about your product or service). You can read this post to learn more than about dynamic content.

E

thirty. Ebook

Ebooks are a common type of content that many marketers use, often to assistance generate leads. They are generally a more long-form content blazon than, say, blog posts, and get into in-depth detail on a subject area. Hither'south an awesome ebook on how to write an ebook (and so meta).

31. Editorial Calendar

It'due south like a road map for content creation, showing you what kind of content to create, what topics to comprehend, which personas to target, and how frequently to publish to best support your strategy. Maintaining an editorial agenda will keep you more than organized and show you any gaps you may take in your content library. It also helps ensure you lot're doing the right things for your personas and not going way off-track with the topics y'all're covering. (Don't have a proper calendar of your own nonetheless? Check out this costless, pre-designed editorial calendar template.)

32. Email

In its nearly basic sense, electronic mail stands for "Electronic Postal service." It'southward a core component of marketing because it's a direct connection to a contact's inbox. However, with great power comes great responsibility, significant it's important for marketers to not abuse the email relationship with a contact. Information technology's far besides easy for a contact to click "unsubscribe" after gaining their difficult earned trust in your communication. Don't accident it.

33. Engagement Charge per unit

A pop social media metric used to describe the amount of interaction -- Likes, shares, comments -- a piece of content receives. Interactions similar these tell you that your letters are resonating with your fans and followers. (Click hither for appointment rate benchmarks for a range of dissimilar industries.)

34. Evergreen Content

Evergreen content is content that continues to provide value to readers no thing when they stumble upon information technology. In other words, it can be referenced long after it was originally published, and fifty-fifty then, information technology's still valuable to the reader. This post on how to write web log posts serves every bit a prime instance.

Typically, a slice of evergreen content is timeless, valuable, high quality, and canonical or definitive. These posts are typically a content marketer's best friend considering of the tremendous SEO value they provide. (Learn more about evergreen content and why it'southward important here.)

F

35. Facebook

Facebook is a social network yous're likely quite familiar with already -- merely it has go so much more than than but a platform to publish content and gain followers. Y'all tin now utilize the awesome targeting options available through Facebook advertising to find and concenter brand new contacts to your website and become them to catechumen on your landing pages ... but recall, you lot still need awesome content to do it.

While it's a cadre component of whatever marketing strategy, it shouldn't be the only component. Focusing entirely on Facebook (or whatsoever other large social aqueduct, for that matter) volition only give you a pocket-sized piece of the inbound marketing pie. And information technology's still piping hot, so be careful. (Download our gratis guide to using Facebook for business here.)

36. Form

The identify your folio visitors will supply data in exchange for your offer. It's besides how those visitors can convert into precious sales leads. As a all-time practice, simply enquire for information you need from your leads in order to effectively follow upward with and/or qualify them. (Read this post to learn what y'all should and shouldn't ask on your landing page forms.)

37. Friction

Whatever element of your website that is disruptive, distracting, or causes stress for visitors, causing them to leave your page. Examples of friction-causing elements include dissonant colors, too much text, distracting website navigation menus, or landing page forms with too many fields. (Learn more most identifying and fixing friction hither.)

Yard

38. Google+

Google+ (referred to every bit "Google Plus") is a social network that allows you to join and create circles in which y'all tin can mix and match family members, friends, colleagues, and fellow industry members. While you can use information technology much like other social networks -- to publish and share content, and generate new leads -- information technology also provides content marketers with tremendous SEO value due to the ascension importance of social sharing in search engine algorithms. (It is endemic by Google, afterwards all.)

H

39. Hashtag

Hashtags are a manner for you and your readers to collaborate with each other on social media and have conversations nigh a particular piece of content. They tie public conversations on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram together into a single stream, which users can observe past searching for a hashtag, clicking on one, or using a third-party monitoring tool like HubSpot's Social Inbox.

The hashtags themselves are simply a keyword phrase, spelled out without spaces, with a pound sign (#) in front of it -- like #InboundChat and #ChocolateLovers. Yous can put these hashtags anywhere in your social media posts. (Learn more than most how to employ hashtags on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram hither.)

xl. HTML

This is curt for HyperText Markup Language, a language used to write web pages. It's at the core of every web folio, regardless the complexity of a site or number of technologies involved, and provides the basic construction of the site -- which is then enhanced and modified by other technologies like CSS and JavaScript. (Download our free guide to HTML hither to acquire some simple and useful HTML coding hacks.)

I

41. Entering Marketing

Inbound marketing refers to marketing activities that draw visitors in, rather than marketers having to go out to get prospects' attention. It'due south all about earning the attention of customers, making the company like shooting fish in a barrel to find online, and drawing customers to the website past producing interesting, helpful content. By adjustment the content yous publish with your client's interests, y'all naturally attract inbound traffic that you can then convert, close, and please over time. (Learn more about inbound marketing here.)

42. Inbound Link

An inbound link is a link coming from another site to your own website. "Inbound" is by and large used by the person receiving the link. For example, here's an inbound link to our co-founder Dharmesh's blog. Dharmesh could say, "I received an inbound link from HubSpot."

Websites that receive many inbound links can be more probable to rank higher in search engines. They also help folks receive referral traffic from other websites. (Learn more than about inbound links here.)

43. Infographic

A highly visual piece of content that is very pop among digital marketers as a mode of relaying circuitous concepts in a elementary and visual way. (Acquire more about how to create a knockout infographic here.)

44. Instagram

Though initially a haven simply for younger generations who wanted to mail service, edit, and share unique-looking photos, Instagram has grown into a premier social network that's a feasible opportunity for content marketers. Many businesses are taking advantage of the site by posting industry related photos that their followers and customers would savour seeing. (Download our gratuitous guide on using Instagram for business hither, or read this blog post for our favorite Instagram tips and tricks.)

J

45. JavaScript

Mix ¾ oz java liqueur with one shot espresso ... nah, just kidding. JavaScript is a programming language that lets spider web developers design interactive sites. Nearly of the dynamic beliefs yous'll see on a web folio is thank you to JavaScript, which augments a browser'due south default controls and behaviors.

Uses for JavaScript include popular-ups, slide-in calls-to-action, security password creation, check forms, interactive games, and special furnishings. It's also used to build mobile apps and create server-based applications. (Learn more about JavaScript, HTML, and CSS here.)

Thousand

46. Key Performance Indicator (KPI)

A blazon of functioning measurement companies utilize to evaluate an employee's or an activity's success. Marketers look at KPIs to runway progress toward marketing goals, and successful marketers constantly evaluate their performance against manufacture standard metrics. Examples of KPIs include CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost), blog traffic sources, and homepage views. Choose KPIs that represent how your marketing and business are performing. (Here are some tips for choosing the right KPIs for your concern.)

47. Keyword

Sometimes referred to as "keyword phrases," keywords are the topics that webpages go indexed for in search results by engines like Google, Yahoo, and Bing.

Picking keywords that you lot'll optimize a webpage for is a ii-part effort. First, you'll want to ensure the keyword has pregnant search volume and is not too hard to rank for. Then, you'll want to ensure it aligns with your target audition

Later deciding the appropriate keywords you lot want to rank for, you'll then need to optimize the appropriate pages on your website using both on-page and off-page tactics. What are those, you lot ask? Skip to "O" to observe out -- simply don't tell "L", "M", or "N"! (Larn how to do keyword research for SEO hither.)

Fifty

48. Landing Page

A landing page is a website page containing a course that is used for lead generation. This folio revolves around a marketing offer, such every bit an ebook or a webinar, and serves to capture visitor information in exchange for the valuable offer. Landing pages are the gatekeepers of the conversion path and are what separates a website visitor from becoming a lead.

A smart inbound marketer volition create landing pages that entreatment to different personae (plural for persona) at various stages of the buying procedure. A hefty endeavor no doubt, only ane that pays off in spades. (Download this ebook to learn more than about landing pages and how to optimize them.)

49. Lead

A person or company who'due south shown interest in a product or service in some manner, shape, or form. Possibly they filled out a form, subscribed to a blog, or shared their contact information in exchange for a coupon.

Generating leads is a critical part of a prospect'due south journey to becoming a client, and it falls in betwixt the second and third stages of the larger inbound marketing methodology, which you can see below.

hubspot-inbound-methodology.png

Landing pages, forms, offers, and calls-to-action are but a few tools to help companies generate leads. (Acquire more nigh lead generation here.)

50. Pb Nurturing

Sometimes referred to as "drip marketing," lead nurturing is the practice of developing a series of communications (emails, social media letters, etc.) that seek to qualify a lead, keep it engaged, and gradually push it down the sales funnel. Entering marketing is all near delivering valuable content to the correct audience -- and lead nurturing helps foster this by providing contextually relevant data to a atomic number 82 during different stages of the buying lifecycle.

51. LinkedIn

LinkedIn is a business-oriented social networking site. Launched in May 2003, information technology is mainly used for professional networking. Nowadays, with more than 414 million registered members, LinkedIn is the near pop social network for professionals and 1 of the top social networks overall. Getting on the platform, developing a completed profile, and networking has helped many a jobseeker find work. (Click here to larn about using LinkedIn for professional networking, business, and marketing.)

52. Lifecycle Stages

These divisions serve as a mode to draw the relationship y'all have with your audience, and can mostly be broken downwards into three stages: awareness, evaluation, and buy.

What's important to understand about each of these stages is that not every slice of content yous create is appropriate, depending on what stage your audience might fall in at that moment. That's why dynamic content is so great -- you tin serve upwards content that's appropriate for any stage that particular visitor is in. (Learn more about how to map content to lifecycle stages hither.)

53. Lifetime Value (LTV)

A prediction of the internet profit attributed to the entire future relationship with a customer. To calculate LTV, follow these steps for a given time period:

  1. Have the revenue the customer paid you in that time period.
  2. Subtract from that number the gross margin.
  3. Divide past the estimated churn charge per unit (aka cancellation rate) for that customer.

For case, if a client pays you $100,000 per year where your gross margin on the acquirement is lxx%, and that customer type is predicted to cancel at 16% per twelvemonth, then the customer'south LTV is $437,500. (Acquire more here.)

54. Long-Tail Keyword

A long-tail keyword is a very targeted search phrase that contains three or more than words. It often contains a caput term, which is a more generic search term, plus 1 or two boosted words that refine the search term. For example:

  • Head term: unicorn
  • Long-tail keywords: unicorn games online, unicorn costumes for kids, unicorn videos on YouTube

Long-tail keywords are more specific, which means visitors that land on your website from a long-tail search term are more qualified, and consequently, more probable to convert.

55. LTV:CAC

The ratio of lifetime value (LTV) to client acquisition cost (CAC). Once you have the LTV and the CAC, compute the ratio of the 2. If it costs yous $100,000 to acquire a customer with an LTV of $437,500, so your LTV:CAC is 4.4 to i.

M

56. Marketing Automation

While there'south some overlap with the term "lead nurturing," marketing automation is a bit different. Think of marketing automation equally the platform with associated tools and analytics to develop a atomic number 82 nurturing strategy. If you'll let me run with an "art" analogy, marketing automation is the paintbrush, watercolors, and blank canvass. Lead nurturing is the artist that makes it all come together. Similar Bob Ross! You lot can't paint a happy little nurturing campaign without both.

Bonus: Want to get super-savvy with your marketing automation terminology? Take it to the side by side level with beliefs-based marketing automation. Behavior-based marketing automation refers to a system that triggers emails and other communication based on user activity on and off your site. Information technology enables marketers to nurture leads and transport them data only when it is nearly relevant to their stage in the buying cycle.

57. Microsite

A cross betwixt a landing page and a "regular" website. ElfYourself.com is a great example. Microsites are used when marketers desire to create a different online experience for their audience separate from their main website. These sites oftentimes have their ain domain names and distinct visual branding. (Here'south a list of 11 of the best microsite examples out at that place.)

58. Middle of the Funnel

This refers to the stage that a lead enters after identifying a problem. Now they're looking to acquit further research to discover a solution to the problem. Typical eye of the funnel offers include case studies or product brochures -- essentially anything that brings your business into the equation every bit a solution to the trouble the atomic number 82 is looking to solve. Too, if you want to exist cool, you can refer to this stage as "MOFU" for short.

59. Mobile Marketing

With mobile search queries officially surpassing desktop queries, now is probably the time to explore mobile marketing. What is it? Well, mobile marketing refers to the practice of optimizing marketing for mobile devices to provide visitors with time- and location- sensitive, personalized information for promoting goods, services, and ideas.

60. Mobile Optimization

Mobile optimization means designing and formatting your website so that it's easy to read and navigate from a mobile device. This can be washed by either creating a split up mobile website or incorporating responsive design in initial site layout. Google's algorithm now rewards mobile-friendly websites, so if your site isn't fully optimized for mobile devices, yous volition probable see a striking to your ranking on mobile searches. (Acquire how to brand your website mobile-friendly here.)

61. Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR)

The amount of revenue a subscription-based business receives per month. Includes MRR gained past new accounts (net new), MRR gained from upsells (net positive), MRR lost from downsells (cyberspace negative), and MRR lost from cancellations (net loss).

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62. Native Advertising

A type of online advertising that takes on the form and role of the platform it appears on. Its purpose is to make ads feel less similar ads, and more similar office of the conversation. That means it's unremarkably a piece of sponsored content that's relative to the consumer experience, isn't interruptive, and looks and feels similar to its editorial environment.

Native advertising tin come in many forms, whether information technology's radio announcers talking favorably about a product sponsoring the evidence, or an article about a product or visitor showing up in your news source. Here are examples of some of the best native advertising out there.

63. Cyberspace Promoter Score (NPS)

A customer satisfaction metric that measures, on a scale of 0-10, the degree to which people would recommend your visitor to others. The NPS is derived from a simple survey designed to help you determine how loyal your customers are to your business.

To summate NPS, subtract the percent of customers who would not recommend you (detractors, or 0-six) from the percent of customers who would (promoters, or 9-10).

Regularly determining your company's NPS allows you lot to identify ways to meliorate your products and services and so you can increase the loyalty of your customers. Learn more than near how to apply NPS surveys for marketing here.

64. News Feed

A news feed is an online feed full of news sources. On Facebook, the News Feed is the homepage of users' accounts where they tin can see all the latest updates from their friends. (Learn all about Facebook'south News Feed here.) The news feed on Twitter is chosen Timeline.

65. No-Follow Link

A no-follow link is used when a website does non want to laissez passer search engine authority to another webpage. It tells search engine crawlers not to follow or pass credit to linked websites every bit a manner to avoid association with spammy content or inadvertently violating webmaster guidelines. To varying degrees, the no-follow aspect is recognized by all major search engines, similar Google, Yahoo, and Bing. Non all links (and linking domains) are created equal, and a no-follow attribute helps avert any foul play.

O

66. Offer

Offers are content assets that alive behind a form on a landing page. Their chief purpose is to help marketers generate leads for your business. There are many different types of offers you could create, including ebooks, checklists, crook sheets, webinars, demos, templates, and tools. (If you demand help putting together some high-quality offers your heir-apparent personas will dear, take some time to read over this post.)

67. On-Page Optimization

This type of SEO is based solely on a webpage and the diverse elements within the HTML (see "H" if you lot skipped here directly). Ensuring that fundamental pieces of the specific page (content, championship tag, URL, and image tags) include the desired keyword will assistance a page rank for that detail phrase.

68. Off-Page Optimization

This is the free-spirited cousin of on-page optimization. Off-folio SEO refers to incoming links and other outside factors that impact how a webpage is indexed in search results. Factors like linking domains and even social media play a role in off-page optimization. The good news is that it'due south powerful; the non so good news is that it'due south mostly out of an inbound marketer's control. The solution? Create useful, remarkable content and chances are people will share and link to it.

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69. Page View

A asking to load a single spider web page on the internet. Marketers use them to analyze their website and to see if any change on the webpage results in more than or fewer folio views.

70. Pay-per-Click (PPC)

The amount of coin spent to become a digital advert clicked. As well an net advert model where advertisers pay a publisher (commonly a search engine, social media site, or website owner) a certain amount of money every time their ad is clicked. For search engines, PPC ads display an advertisement when someone searches for a keyword that matches the advertiser'southward keyword list, which they submit to the search engine ahead of fourth dimension.

PPC ads are used to direct traffic to the advertiser'due south website, and PPC is used to assess the cost effectiveness and profitability of your paid advertising campaigns.

In that location are two ways to pay for PPC ads:

  • Flat charge per unit: where the advertiser and publisher concur on a fixed amount that volition exist paid for each click. Typically this happens when publishers have a fixed charge per unit for PPC in different areas on their website.
  • Bid-based: where the advertiser competes against other advertisers in an advertising network. In this case, each advertiser sets a maximum spend to pay for a given advertisement spot, and so the ad will stop appearing on a given website once that corporeality of money is spent. It besides ways that the more people that click on your advert, the lower PPC you'll pay and vice versa.

(Learn more most getting started with PPC here.)

71. Product Matrix

A production matrix is a nautical chart that describes the various products a business offers and the features that apply to each product. Product matrices typically assign each version of a production its own cavalcade along the peak, with the features included in each version listed in rows down the lefthand side.

For instance, a business that sells three versions of the same production -- and 10 potential features beyond this production -- could create a product matrix with three columns and ten rows. In each jail cell where a column and row intersect, the business tin can include a symbol or checkmark indicating that this characteristic is included in this version of the product.

72. Pinterest

Pinterest is a visual social network typically used past ecommerce marketers, simply non without its off-white share of summit-notch B2B and B2C content marketers. Businesses and consumers alike use the website to post images and photos they like and so fellow users tin can repin (share) that content.

Not every company has taken advantage of this site still. If you're one of them, nosotros advise you check out this free guide to Pinterest for business.)

73. PPC

PPC, (or Pay-Per-Click) is an advertizing technique in which an advertiser puts an advert in an advertisement venue (like Google AdWords or Facebook), and pays that venue each time a visitor clicks on the advertizing. I couldn't recall of annihilation witty to identify at the terminate of this definition, so let'due south motility on to "Q."

Q

74. Qualified Lead

A contact that opted in to receive communication from your company, became educated almost your product or service, and is interested in learning more than. Marketing and Sales oft accept two dissimilar versions of qualified leads (MQLs for Marketing, and SQLs for Sales), and then exist sure to have conversations with your sales team to set expectations for the types of leads yous program to hand over.

75. QR Code

A QR code (abbreviated from Quick Response code) is a specific matrix barcode (or ii-dimensional code) that is readable by dedicated QR barcode readers and camera telephones. The lawmaking consists of blackness modules arranged in a foursquare design on a white background. The information encoded may be text, URL, or other data. It also starts with "Q," which is a rarity with marketing-related terms. (Learn how to create a QR Code here.)

R

76. Responsive Design

This is the practice of developing a website that adapts accordingly to how someone is viewing it. Instead of building a separate, distinct website for each specific device it could be viewed on, the site recognizes the device that your visitor is using and automatically generates a page that is responsive to the device the content is being viewed on -- making websites ever appear optimized for screens of any dimension. (Learn how responsive blueprint works here.)

77. Return on Investment (ROI)

A performance measure used to evaluate the efficiency and profitability of an investment, or to compare the efficiency and profitability of multiple investments. The formula for ROI is: (Proceeds from Investment minus Cost of Investment), all divided by (Toll of Investment). The result is expressed every bit a percent or ratio. If ROI is negative, and so that initiative is losing the company money. The calculation can vary depending on what you input for gains and costs.

Today, marketers want to measure the ROI on every tactic and channel they employ. Many facets of marketing have pretty straightforward ROI calculations (like PPC), but others are more difficult (similar content marketing).

78. Retweet

A re-posting of a tweet posted by some other user on Twitter. Retweets wait like normal tweets except for the retweet icon. They can exist done in three ways:

1) Yous can retweet an unabridged tweet by clicking the retweet button, indicated below.

hubspot-retweet-hubspot-academy.png

2) You can post a new tweet that includes your own commentary. In a new tweet, which also features the original tweet. It ways you've pressed the rotating arrow icon to retweet a mail, and and so added a comment in the text box provided. We adopt this method of retweeting because it allows you to add together your own thoughts. (Notation: The retweet takes up 24 characters, leaving you lot with 116 characters for the annotate.)

mark-kilens-retweet-with-comment.png

3) You can post a new tweet that includes your own commentary in addition to the information you lot're retweeting. The formula is this: Your ain commentary + RT + the original tweeter's Twitter handle + colon + the exact text from their original tweet. This method of retweeting allows y'all to add your own thoughts, just with a very limited grapheme count.

noshonit-retweet.png

When yous see "Please RT" in someone's tweet, it means they are requesting that their followers retweet that tweet to spread awareness. (Learn more virtually retweets here.)

S

79. Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

The practice of enhancing where a webpage appears in search results. By adjusting a webpage's on-folio SEO elements and influencing off-folio SEO factors, an inbound marketer tin can improve where a webpage appears in search engine results.

In that location are a ton of components to improving the SEO of your site pages. Search engines look for elements including title tags, keywords, image tags, internal link construction, and inbound links -- and that's just to name a few. Search engines also look at site structure and design, company behavior, and other external, off-site factors to determine how highly ranked your site should be in the search engine results pages. (Learn more than about SEO here.)

80. Sender Score

An e-mail marketing term that refers to a reputation rating from 0-100 for every outgoing mail server IP accost. Mail servers will bank check your Sender Score earlier deciding what to exercise with your emails. A score of over 90 is good. (Larn more almost sender score and email deliverability here.)

81. Service Level Understanding (SLA)

For marketers, an SLA is an agreement between a company'due south sales and marketing teams that defines the expectations Sales has for Marketing and vice versa. The Marketing SLA defines expectations Sales has for Marketing with regards to lead quantity and lead quality, while the Sales SLA defines the expectations Marketing has for Sales on how deeply and oft Sales will pursue each qualified lead.

SLAs exist to marshal sales and marketing. If the 2 departments are managed as split silos, the organization fails. For companies to achieve growth and become leaders in their industries, information technology is critical that these ii groups exist properly integrated. Learn how to create an SLA here.

82. Small-to-Medium Business (SMB)

Usually defined as companies that have between 10 and 500 employees.

83. Smarketing

A fun phrase used to refer to the practise of aligning Sales and Marketing efforts. In a perfect world, marketing would pass off tons of fully qualified leads to the sales team, who would then afterward piece of work every one of those leads plenty times to close them 100% of the time. Just since this isn't always how the cookie crumbles, it's of import for Marketing and Sales to align efforts to touch on the bottom line the best they tin through coordinated advice. (Download our free guide to unifying your sales and marketing efforts hither.)

84. Snapchat

A social app that allows users to send and receive time-sensitive photos and videos known every bit "snaps," which are hidden from the recipients once the time limit expires. (Annotation: Images and videos still remain on the Snapchat server). Users tin can add together text and drawings to their snaps and control the listing of recipients in which they send them to.

A Snapchat story is a string of Snapchats that lasts for 24 hours. Users can create stories to exist shared with all Snapchatters or only a customized grouping of recipients. (Learn more about how businesses are using Snapchat here.)

85. Social Media

Social media is media designed to be disseminated through social interaction, created using highly attainable and scalable publishing techniques. Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, LinkedIn and Google+ are examples of social media networks that one can join for personal or business use. Social Media is a cadre component of Inbound, as it provides marketers with boosted channels to spread reach, increase growth, and accomplish business concern goals.

86. Social Proof

Social proof refers to a psychological miracle in which people seek direction from those around them to determine how they are supposed to human activity or call up in a given situation. It's like when yous see a actually long line outside a nightclub and assume that social club is really practiced considering it'south in such high demand. In social media, social proof can exist identified by the number of interactions a slice of content receives or the number of followers you have. The thought is that if others are sharing something or following someone, information technology must exist good. (Learn some tips for adding social proof to your landing pages here.)

87. Software-as-a-Service (SaaS)

Any software that is hosted by another company, which stores your data in the cloud. Examples: HubSpot, Salesforce, IM clients, and project direction applications. (Here are some examples of SaaS companies with exceptional marketing.)

T

88. Meridian of the Funnel

Sometimes called "TOFU", peak of the funnel refers to the very first phase of the buying process. Leads at this stage are just identifying a problem that they accept and are looking for more data. Every bit such, an inbound marketer will want to create helpful content that aids leads in identifying this problem and providing adjacent steps toward a solution. TOFU is also very tasty in sure Thai dishes.

89. Twitter

For the sake of inventiveness, I'll define Twitter in 140 characters or less: "Twitter is a platform that allows users to share 140-graphic symbol long messages publicly. User tin follow one another and be followed back." There you accept it -- a tweetable definition of Twitter.

U

90. Unique Visitor

A person who visits a website more than one time within a period of fourth dimension. Marketers use this term in contrast with overall site visits to track the amount of traffic on their website. If only one person visits a webpage thirty times, then that web page has i UV and 30 total site visits.

91. URL

This is short for Compatible Resource Locator. I honestly didn't know that before writing this definition. Basically, this is the accost of a piece of information that tin can exist found on the web such equally a folio, image, or document (ex. http://world wide web.huspot.com). URLs are important for on-page SEO, every bit search engines scour the included text when mining for keywords. If a keyword you lot're looking to get indexed for is in the URL, y'all'll get credibility points from search engines (merely no real brownies, unfortunately).

92. User Experience (UX)

The overall feel a customer has with a particular business concern, from their discovery and awareness of the make all the way through their interaction, purchase, utilize, and even advocacy of that brand. To deliver an excellent customer experience, you have to call up like a client, or better, remember about beingness the customer. Learn more hither.

93. User Interface (UI)

A type of interface that allows users to command a software awarding or hardware device. A good user interface provides a user-friendly feel by allowing the user to interact with the software or hardware in an intuitive way. Information technology includes a carte du jour bar, toolbar, windows, buttons, and so on. Acquire how to create a user-friendly website registration process here.

Five

94. Viral Content

This term is used to describe a slice of content that has become wildly popular across the spider web through sharing. Oftentimes, folks don't know a piece they're creating volition exist viral until it actually does, which is usually unfortunate if information technology's especially embarrassing.

W

95. Website

A website is a set of interconnected webpages, usually including a homepage, generally located on the same server, and prepared and maintained as a collection of data by a person, group, or organization. An inbound marketer should structure a website like a dynamic, multi-dimensional entity that can be used to attract relevant website visitors, convert those visitors into leads, and close those leads into customers. Otherwise, information technology's just a brochure -- and let's exist honest -- could yous really use another brochure?

96. Word-of-Oral fissure (WOM)

The passing of information from person to person. Technically, the term refers to oral communication, but today information technology refers to online advice, too. WOM marketing is inexpensive, but it takes piece of work and involves leveraging many components of inbound marketing like product marketing, content marketing, and social media marketing. (Acquire more than about creating a powerful WOM marketing strategy here.)

97. Workflow

A workflow is another way to describe a atomic number 82 nurturing entrada. It'south a set of triggers and events that move a lead through the nurturing process. A workflow can as well serve other purposes, such as adjust contact properties on a atomic number 82 record based on certain weather, or adding a contact record to a certain list. Regardless of how you employ it, workflows can be a very powerful asset in an inbound marketing strategy.

X

98. XML Sitemap

We couldn't get out "Ten" out of the party! An XML sitemap is a file of code that lives on your web server and lists all of the relevant URLs that are in the structure of your website. Information technology'due south kind of like a "floor plan" for the site, which especially comes in handy whenever the site gets changed. It as well helps search engine web crawlers determine the construction of the site so they can crawl it more intelligently.

Sitemaps don't guarantee all links volition be crawled, and being crawled does not guarantee indexing. Nonetheless, a sitemap is still the best insurance for getting a search engine to larn about your entire site. Information technology'southward sort of like saying "Hey, Google -- bank check out this fine website." (Acquire more about XML sitemaps and how to create one hither.)

Y

99. YouTube

YouTube is a video-sharing website on which users can upload, share, and view videos. 3 former PayPal employees created YouTube in February 2005. In November 2006, YouTube, LLC was bought past Google Inc. for $1.65 billion, and is now operated as a subsidiary of Google. YouTube is the largest video-sharing site in the globe and you're probably on it now instead of finishing up this post.

Z

100. Zip

Nosotros couldn't recollect of anything for "Z." So I ask you dear readers: What entering marketing related topic should nosotros ascertain that begins with the letter of the alphabet "Z"?

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How to Run an Inbound Marketing Campaign

Originally published April fifteen, 2019 ten:29:00 PM, updated January 11 2022